New To Forum: Question On Brain Supplements, Increased Concentration

Greetings,

I’m a nootropic newbie.  I have dabbled a little but, never saw any improvement and I get frustrated with my brain these days.  I’m mainly looking for increased focus and concentration.  I’m a musician and have long practice and writing sessions and feel I could be way more productive.  Every now and then I really ‘lock in’ but it is rare.  I lose focus and my memory could be better.  I probably have a mild version of ADD.  I will lay out what I currently am doing in terms of supplements and diet and maybe I can get some input/suggestions.

I am 40 years old. 

Exercise – primarily kettlebell training, some free weights, sprints.

I’m naturally lean. Yearly bloodwork (chem panel, lipids etc) are very good.

First – I’m pretty good with my diet. I eat a mostly paleo/primal diet about 80% of the time.  The last 6 months or so I have not been as diligent. I really think this is a factor at times. I suspect gluten and sugar is holding me back.  I am really trying to get this dialed in and believe I’ll make good progress starting with diet.

Supplements – this is what I currently take daily.

New Chapter Men’s One Daily Multivitamin

Thorne Research B Complex #5 Stress complex (contains extra B5)

Healthy Origins Ubiquinol - 50 mg

Kal Magnesium Glycinate – 800 MG

Vitamin D3 drops – 2000-4000 IU

Probiotic

Olive Leaf Extract

Stronger Faster Healthier liquid Fish Oil.

I make BP Coffee from time to time.  Either MCT or GF Butter and Coconut oil.

Brain Supplements I have tried

Source Naturals DMAE 351 MG – no change

Source Naturals L-Theanine 300 MG – don’t recall if this helped

Cognitive Nutrition Phenylethylamine – no change

Source Naturals L-Tyrosine 500 MG – made me jittery

Jarrow Neuro Optimizer – no change. Recently started retaking.