Let's Hack... Beards!

OK plain and simple. Beards are coming back into style. I've been letting mine grow for a few months now, and it's coming to a slow stall I think. Let's hack beard growth... anything and everything we've got people. 

P.S. I've been told I look like a mountain man.. I had to correct them and say, no I'm actually a caveman, a BULLETPROOF caveman. ;D 

Comments

• Are they "in style"? I've always let mine grow. I need a beard to rub while trying to figure things out. It's a nootropic for me.

It's all relative.

• As a bearded man for the the last 12+ years (save some battles with ringworm on the neck) my single biggest pieces of advice are:

1. The longer you wait to trim, the better it will look once trimmed.

2. Keep it simple, follow your neck line for the bottom, trim any incongruence off on top, and the mustache as needed.

3.  No goatees, soal patches, or other failed beard attempts

• NoogisNoogis
    edited April 2014
    Advice number one is especially true. You will look homeless for a few months, but it will look better if you wait to trim until it's well established.

Something that helps mine grow faster is to flex my neck muscles while grunting.

Motor boating helps too. Either end.

As a bearded man for the the last 12+ years (save some battles with ringworm on the neck) my single biggest pieces of advice are:

1. The longer you wait to trim, the better it will look once trimmed.

2. Keep it simple, follow your neck line for the bottom, trim any incongruence off on top, and the mustache as needed.

3. No goatees, soal patches, or other failed beard attempts

• As a man with a beard for nearly the past 2 years... a tip - wash it with a gentle shampoo, and condition it. Especially during the early phase. It helps significantly. 

And yep, beards are back in style. :)

• SkeletorSkeletor The Conqueror Worm ✭✭✭
    edited April 2014

I rock a mutton chop + mustache combo, personally. Agree on the above advice.