Monkey Mind

I'm a newbie here so this is my first post. I am really hoping someone can help me shed some light on this. This is something thats become prevalent in the last 10 years or so. In looking thru the net for info on this the closest thing I can come to what I deal with is the monkey mind which is the term sometimes used by Buddhist to describe the incessantly moving behavior of human consciousness. For me this is constant narrative of past,present and future events where in my mind I look at all these things break them down in to the basic components and then rebuild it into a potential scenario watch it play out and then I tear it all down and build it into something else over and over again. This goes on 24/7 for me and its not limited to anyone thing it can be several different things that have no relationship to one another. It doesn't effect my day to day life it just runs in my mind in the background. Its gotten to the point were I cannot just let something be for the sake of it being. I'm hoping that maybe someone else has dealt with something similar to this and as some advice has to how to deal with it. Before any one asks I've been trying to meditate for years now but with this "program" for lack of a better word running in the background I'm unable to. 

Comments

• edited April 2014

Welcome aboard, there's loads to learn but it can be very rewarding!