Feeling Very Tired After Eating On Bulletproof If

edited April 2014 in The Bulletproof Diet

Hi guys-

I have been doing Bulletproof IF for a week now. Prior to that I was doing keto (20-30g carbs/day) for about 2 months, and prior to that I was doing a low carb diet (50-60g carbs/day) for a month. I've never tried IF before this.

On bulletproof IF, I wake up at around 8am and have a cup of tea with 1T butter and 1T coconut oil. If I get hungry again before 2pm, I'll make another cup with the same amounts. I break the fast at 2pm, eat a regular sized LC meal, and then have a snack before 8pm which is when I start fasting again. (I should also add that since I've only been doing this for a week, I haven't done any carb ups yet. I'm actually kind of hesistant to do a carb-day at all since I have been doing so well on LC/keto without it and without any negative symptoms.)

This whole week I've been feeling mentally foggy and sort of anxious until I eat my first meal. I assume this is normal and that I'm just not fully adjusted to doing IF. Another thing that I noticed is that I've been feeling so exhausted after eating my first meal of the day. I can literally fall right asleep at 4pm without even trying.. and this sleepy feeling doesn't go away no matter what I do. I've tried upping my calories by grazing on snacks throughout the eating period. I've tried lowering my calories by eating just the one meal a day at 2pm with a snack later at night. I've tried taking the bus instead of walking my usual 4 miles each day. I've tried walking slower and not exerting myself as much. Nothing has helped get me through the day with consistent energy levels...