New Metastudy Suggests Protein After Workout Doesn't Lead To Muscle Gain

http://www.realclearscience.com/journal_club/2013/12/05/you_dont_need_protein_after_lifting_weights.html

The researchers conclude that the total amount of protein you consume matters for muscle growth, but the timing doesn't matter.  Would be curious to hear any thoughts from those who agree, disagree or know of any research supporting this or a contrary conclusion.

Comments

• Don't have any hard science but definitely agree just from working out. You can feel the tiredness and aches as your muscles repair themselves the next day, never really believed there is this hour long window for maximum muscle growth. 

• Star ChaserStar Chaser Powered by Shred
    The one hour widow is a myth.. UNLESS you didn't fuel properly pre workout, are in a serious mass gain protocol (aka eat everything in front of you, all the time) or you re going to be workout out again that day.

I am a Video Game composer under the pseudonym Star Chaser.

twitch.tv/starchaservgm (streaming most saturday and sunday nights EST)

Guitarist:

https://youtu.be/8L0SkovqEf4

Next cover is Die by the Sword by Dragonforce.

Music/Health/Biohacking Blog and Podcast currently under construction.

Thanks to the internet, health experts, and my unending curiosity, I have overcome: excessive sweating (adrenal fatigue), anxiety and panic attacks, extremely high estrogen levels (man boobs), chronic brain fog (yeast overgrowth), depression, and am currently battling SIBO (took it from being so bloated it felt like my stomach skin was going to rip, slept 2 hours per night for a week because of upset stomach and being chronically fatigued to very mild, manageable but still annoying symptoms) and currently battling sleep deprivation/insomnia probably due to the SIBO/Leaky Gut and resulting histamine intolerance.