Home Mold Testing

Hello,

I have been suspecting a mold infestation in my Condo for a few months now due to a leak that came from the common patio area of my building into my master bedroom. I have have just been able to get the HOA to spring for a mold testing. The company said they did not find any toxic mold (they only did a tape test) and as a result, the HOA will not pay for any mold remediation. 

I don't have much in the way of money to pay for a testing myself and I am wanting to get an opinion as to whether it would be worth it. I called American Air testing and they stated that the company should have tested inside the wall in question and quoted me around $500-$1000 for testing. 

I cannot rent this condo out because of all this and am losing money every month that goes by.However, I do not want to rent the room out if there is a mold infestation. Caught between a rock and a hard place. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Tagged:

Comments

• Find someone with Lyme. Have em visit your house. They'll let you know pretty quickly whether there is mold or not :)

• romansbromansb BulletResistant

There's products like this with hit or miss reliability.

Where I post my research:
    buildingabetterhuman.com

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication" -Leonardo Da Vinci

• GeijutsuGeijutsu
    edited June 2014
    I suspecting that I have a mold problem as well. The house I live in has a very shitty plumbing system and there are constantly leaks going on. The house has a central AC system and I noticed that during summer, my lungs are constantly irritated, I couldn't figure it out at first but then it hit me that there could be mold spores coming out of the AC and I'm breathing it. I ordered one of those mold testing kits that come with a patri dish from amazon and tested the air, and the results came out negative. So i'm still preplexed to say the least, I guess the best way to rule it out is to test myself for mold exposure.