Microwaving Grass Fed Beef?

I am a college student who has access to grass fed beef. Unfortunatley, the dorms only allow microwaves as a method of cooking. I have researched the dangers on microwaves and know that Dave is against it, but I have not found any solid studies on microwaves being dangerous. My question is, should I microwave my grass fed beef, or will microwaving it destroy the benifits? Also, what research has Dave talked about the microwave being harmful?

Comments

• Danno RedDanno Red Practical Man

Microwave water in a pyrex measuring cup and put meat in small pieces in that...some of the good stuff comes out but dang, runaway heating is bound to create nasty things in the microwave by just tossing a pile of meat on a plate and giving it a zap. If you do take this approach, skim off the fat that floats in the water and spoon it back onto the meat. Or you could ziplock bag the meat (plastic is frowned upon too though!) and bring water to a near boil, put the bag in til the water cools, remove the bag, reheat the water and replace the bag in the water until you've reached the desired doneness. Sous vide dorm-room style!

• ACH85ACH85 ✭✭
    edited June 2014

In college I stashed an electric griddle in my dorm room and made pancakes on my desk. I was not caught. Maybe a crock pot and slow cooking?

You do have a bit of a moral obligation to prevent a fire, so don't do something stupid like hide a plugged in crock pot under your bed. You need to leave it out and away from flammable stuff while you're cooking. Set it up right and you can go to class and come back to cooked food.