pastured eggs

SkippySkippy Skippy
edited August 2013 in The Bulletproof Diet

I love the bulletproof diet. It has introduced me to the importance of finding pastured eggs. Wow, I couldn't believe the difference in taste and texture of these eggs compared to the ones I have been eating for 42 years. Anyhow, until I can afford to eat grass-fed beef every day, I am eating eggs a few times a week. I hope someone here can answer a couple of questions.

1. I found a local farm that raises their own grass-fed beef, raw grass-fed milk, pastured egss, etc. On their website, I see the "pastured" chickens are, indeed, raised in a section of a pasture. I also noticed a trough that looks like it has feed in it. So I ask the farm owner if the chickens are 100% "pastured" and they said that they are mostly, but they supplement their diet with "some" organic grains. Needless to say, this made me a bit concerned, though I could tell the eggs are of much better quality than store bought eggs. Also, they are very similar to "pastured" eggs bought at the local organic market. How concerned should I be about this? Is it normal or ethical or even legal to call eggs "pastured" if they are fed grains?

2. As I said, I have been eating quite a few eggs over the last 3 weeks. Probably about 1 dozen per week or more. I have been frying them in grass-fed butter at low temp, about setting 3.5 to 4.5 on the stove. Is this a healthy way to eat eggs? I keep hearing the co-host and Dave promote eating these eggs, but I think I've heard them say to only eat them raw?? Is it bad to cook them? If so, what is the best way to incorporate raw eggs into my diet? I've heard them mention adding them to oil to make a good salad dressing. Anyone have a recipe for this? I think they recommended adding them to bulletproof coffee...would this be the same as cooking them? Any advice in this area would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Skippy