Am I Losing Muscle Or Fat?

Tried bullet proof coffee/intermittent fasting for 2 weeks and weight went from 121.5 to 113.5... I was ecstatic since I have been on a low carb ketogenic diet for over 5 months and hadn't lost anything.....just saw a difference in body fat. My body fat went from 21% to 17%. So I had high hopes my body fat would have gotten better, but no it went up!!!!! I actually gained 1.5lbs and lost over 4lbs of muscle....bringing my body fat up to 19%...(I was in ketosis the entire 2weeks...)

I am currently in a contest at my gym. We are trying to gain muscle and lose fat. I feel like a failure and need advice?! I already ordered the bullet proof book and do feel like David Alspray is a genius...I want to know what to do now. Any thoughts advice?

I do workout 6-7 days a week, I do vary my routine....I am a teacher wake up at 5 hit the gym by 5:30 am or 6am...I have not been eating after I workout... I have been just having my bullet proof coffee and waiting until 1pm to eat and then stopping at 6pm to 7...

I have until December 7th to win this thing...I was hoping to promote the book at my gym! Can you help me?

Comments

• dazdaz today is a good day ✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

what do your clothes 'say'...what does the mirror 'say'...? do you look like you have lost muscle & gained fat

how are you measuring...could it be with bioimpedance scales...like those by Tanita.

If it is, then the 'state' of your body will matter eg. fasted vs non-fasted, hydration level (water %) etc.

& the water % will likely be influenced by your glycogen levels, so if you start eating less carbs, the scales will likely measure you as having less water % & therefore (using its program) more fat %.

by way of a Tanita body comp scale example,

I have a Tanita body comp scale (model bc 541). my settings are Adult, Male, non-Athlete mode.

The body fat %, water % and muscle kilos will all vary thru the day.