Brain Octane Reacts With Certain Plastics

Saw that it says, on the back of my brain octane, that all edible oils, including brain octane react with certain plastics. I was wondering if it is safe to make my BPC in my magic bullet?

Tagged:

Comments

• Looked at an older bottle of brain octane i had and noticed it didnt have this warning

• I used a little plastic disposable cup to measure some out, then left the cup on my desk and forgot about it.  The residue in the cup sorta melted the plastic, but that took a week.  Seems like the short time that it's in a hard plastic container wouldn't be enough to cause harm, but I'm no expert.

• Fatty acids react with particular polymeric compounds. Plasticiser allows the polymer chains to effectively slide past one another to give the plastic its desired flexibility, and if I'm remembering correctly, I believe the fat interacts with the plasticiser and allows it to 'leach out' - contaminating your tasty fats with horrendous items like BPA, and ruining the integrity of your polymer.

It's been a few years since I studied all of this so the mechanism I described could be a little off.

I have no idea what a magic bullet is but I'm assuming it's plastic as described. If you're ever in doubt, basically, most plastics have a stamp of a triangle with a number inside it, so if that number is 2, 4, or 5, then you're probably safe using brain octane in that. I couldn't comment on those that are about 10 or above as that's entering into biodegradable composite territory and I'm not up to date with all that.

The problem with common sense is that it isn't all that common.

• Senses has it right. Basic Organic chemistry tells us that organic molecules (such as the hydrocarbons in plastic, and the fats in your Brain Octane (Ironically, I don't think the MCT in BO is actually 8 carbons long...) ) will mix, but inorganic molecules (such as glass or metal. It's the reason oil and water don't mix) will not.