Hunger After Bulletproof Coffee

Hi, i'm new to the bp diet. I'm female, 65 and suffering from autoimmune problems. I have been following Sarah Ballantyne's Autoimmune Paleo diet. I also followed Terry Wahls protocol. While helpful with the autoimmune problems, I failed to loose weight with both. Now I try this. But after drinking my mug of bp coffee, my body responds with hunger pangs. Leaving out the stevia makes no difference. Anybody recognizes this or might there be an explanation?

I try to postpone my first meal as long as possible. I eat appriximately 1200-1800 calories a day, ca 85% fat in 2 meals. If I drink tea in the morning, the hunger starts later on, so I'm inclined to postpone the coffee till noon.

Comments

• WalterWalter ✭✭✭

Try some protein with your Bulletproof coffee. 

• edited January 2015

One eats when they're hungry, stops when they're no longer hungry. :P

• You miss the point. Bp coffee is supposed to suppress hunger, not invoke it, which it does. Adding protein won't help, because of gluconeogenesis and insulin spike. During sleep the body is in fat burning mode. Breaking the fast turns the switch. If I just drink my black tea, not spiked up with butter and mct, hunger takes longer to kick in.
  • If I get hungry again in the morning, I'll have a 2nd cup of BP coffee.  LOVE that stuff!!!    We are all so different, Maureen.  I followed Skye St John's version of the BP diet since she tweaked it for women.  It took me a few days to get it right for me, but, once I did, it all switched on.  I hope you find a solution.  If the tea is better for you, than BP tea in the morning with a 2nd cup later in the morning. 

• Thank you. I'll try bp tea tomorrow. If that also triggers hunger, I'll leave out the mct oil, and susequently the butter.

It might be the coffein, which is known to have an immediate effect on the sympathetic nervous system. Who knows what switches we haven't identified yet.
  • edited January 2015