Organic Valley Cultured Butter Unsalted

I am new to bulletproof and really interested in trying bulletproof coffee. Nearest Kerrygold seller is over 1 hr away, but I have seen Organic Valley Cultured butter in my local store.

http://www.organicvalley.coop/products/butter/cultured/cultured-unsalted-1-lb-4-quarters/

From what I've read this butter is mostly grass-fed but maybe not completely. It doesn't do a great job in the description. Does anyone use this or think it would be acceptable for bulletproof coffee?

Comments

• Great, so organic would trump a fully grass fed butter?
  • edited March 2015

you want the organic valley pasture butter if possible, it is in the green packaging and often not available year round (though it is in stores here right now) since it is produced when the cows are mostly eating grass rather than the organic feeds. Best commercial quality I've been able to find, better flavor and consistency than kerrygold but also a little more expensive.

If you can't find the Pasture version then it is probably better to stick to kerrygold (always 90+% grass fed even though the rest has some gmo feed), or butter from a local farm.

• no, but grass fed organic trumps grass fed but not organic. 

and keep in mind that none of these butters are 100% fully grass fed unlesss you get the stuff that is specifically from the summer months. closest thing to that that i've found is pure indian ghee, as they only sell ghee from the summer months i think. 

• Ok yeah I saw the pasture butter on the OV website but saw it said it is lightly salted. Wasn't sure how that would be in coffee.

Otherwise I'll give the cultured a shot since I don't have access to Kerrygold. And possibly look into getting Ghee, although from what I've read that has some emulsifying issues.

Thanks for the info.