Best Pre-Workout Supplements? (For A Beginner)

Looking for the best pre-workout supplements to get me started with weight training - I'm a real amateur. My plan is to follow a Body By Science workout regime and Jason's template for my carb and protein intake. I am undecided as to my pre-workout supplements, I find quite divided opinions...

D-Ribose? Dextrose? Vitargo? Caffeine? Coconut Water?

I have a few barriers in that I am corn, barley and yeast intolerant (amongst much, much more - bloody leaky-gut!) which means (please correct me if i'm wrong) Dextrose (I can't find any from rice in the UK), D-Ribose and Vitargo are out of the question.

Would caffeine or coconut be enough? Should I be having BCAAs? Should I just stick to food? Is there anything I haven't mentioned?

Any guidance on my thoughts above would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Brilliant. Thank you, Jason. Today I have some rice and coconut to eat at around 10am, then workout at around 12pm with some coconut water. Going forward I will get some BCAAs for pre. For my post-workout I will be using rice protein by Sun Warriror, unfortunately I am dairy (casein) intolerant so Whey is another barrier. At around 1:30pm I will have more rice, lamb and chard.

I have noticed that I left off creatine and glutamine in my original post. Do you have any views on the two? Is creatine just an optional boost rather than a necessity? Is glutamine better pre or post, or both? Currently I have L-glutamine at plan to take it in my post-workout shake.

• Creatine is great option to take and is research supported, I still take glutamine regardless of the lack of strong research, it's cheap insurance and good for gut health.

Perfect, thanks again.

Carbs massively helped today. Rice 2 hours before and a green tea half an hour before worked wonders! Will try the coconut water and creatine next time and compare.