Fuel During Long Runs

Hi all, 

So, I'm looking for some advice on nutrition while running. I've been running (albeit slowly) for a few years now, low carb the whole time. I'd like to hear your thoughts on what I should be consuming during a long (15mi+) run. I'm currently training for a marathon, so am running quite a bit lately. My goals here are to finish this marathon (not win it), and hopefully drop maybe 10lbs of fat at the same time. I'm a 6'1", 180lb 32-year-old guy. 

I run in the mornings (it's hot out!). 2hrs before I start, I have three or four Unfair Advantage ampules and start drinking water with salt. About 90mins before, I have a BP coffee made with 1.5tbsp of Kerrygold, about 2tbsp of Brain Octane and 2tbsp of Collagen Protein. 

During the run, I carry a bottle of water with a nuun tablet. I'll usually find another source of water along my route somewhere, too. 

After the run, I usually don't do anything too special. I drink a lot of water and usually nap. 

Last week, I took a packet of Justin's Honey Almond Butter that I had about 10mi in, but I felt really "heavy" after.

So, my questions:

What do you all think would be a good mid-run fuel? Or should I even bother, and just force my body to burn my built-in fat reserves? Everyone I run with (on high sugar runner's diets) advocate Gu and other sports gel and drinks, which I'm not really interested in.

The idea of Fat Water is intriguing. It makes me want to run my nuun through the blender with a couple tbsp of brain octane and see what happens. Has anyone tried this? 

Also, BCAAs... Everything I've read makes me think I should take some before, during and after. But I'm not sure which product to get. 

Thanks everyone!

Tagged:

Comments

• staylorstaylor
    edited August 2015

First recommendation, start reading through the ultra-marathon running forums as there are some really knowledgeable runners in there.