Advice On (Long-Term) Daily Modafinil Usage?

I am a relative newbie to nootropics and biohacking, but upon discovering modafinil I find myself taking it more often (once daily 100-200mg), than not. What are the long term side effects of daily usage, aside from, I am assuming, some kind of tolerance?  Is this kind of usage sustainable?

Tagged:

Comments

• Can I add to this instead of setting up a new thread as relevant because thinking about long term use (LOL I'm doing it anyway).  

For long term use I take it you need something to offset negative effects on liver - what do you use for this?  Is that LIV52 stuff bodybuilders use enough for this?

In addition, if you drinking coffee each day and taking modafinil do you need to take something to guard against blood pressure increase?  Would hawthorn berry be okay for this?  

• edited October 2015

I do three days on, one day off to mitigate tolerance. I find phenylpiracetam to be a good substitute for that fourth day - another head-clearing, all-day-energy type of stimulant; heavier on the body and quicker to build tolerance, but that's why it gets the sparser schedule.

Additionally, I take milk thistle to (theoretically) keep my liver enzymes in order. Which may also help mitigate metabolic tolerance and thereby pay for itself, but I haven't tracked that closely enough to tell.

Modafinil slightly increased my blood pressure only the first weeks, or currently when I take an unusually high dose. Which I interpret to mean that you build tolerance to the sympathetic effects before the eugeroic effects, and that this issue solves itself. Anyway, if you're tracking blood pressure and it remains a concern, spirulina is one substance that consistently reduced mine by some 10 over 5 points despite starting out in (the upper half of) the healthy range, and it's a great neuroprotectant to boot.