Licorice

Modern Life SurvivalistModern Life Survivalist Saturated Fat Truther ✭✭

Where is a good place to get some healthy licorice? I want no added sugar, just some pure, nasty black licorice that everyone used to hate the taste of. I want it because it's candy that should actually be healthy, and also because it's good for your gut, especially when you have GI distress. I want to munch on it once a week or something. Anybody else do this?

Comments

• SkeletorSkeletor The Conqueror Worm ✭✭✭
    edited November 2015

Well, I'm no expert on this, but I think you'll be hard-pressed to find a chewy "Twizzler's-esque" licorice that isn't made with some kind of junk. However if you want a licorice candy that doesn't have any nasty additives, these licorice lozenges look promising. I haven't tried them, but they only contain organic licorice extract. If you want to enjoy the benefits of licorice, consider sourcing a good licorice tea, too. This one looks nice, though I haven't tried it.

"I know how to despise mere cool intelligence. What I want is intelligence matched by pure, physical existence, like a statue." --Yukio Mishima

Let's be friends on MyFitnessPal!

• I also love licorice and every time I see a brand I look at the ingredients list: same thing every time. Wheat, if you're ok with gluten I think Panda brand is the best, it's sold at most health food stores here in Canada. If you are gluten free the only way of getting the taste is licorice tea, Yogi is about the best licorice spice tea.

• http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81GB8SRHGGL._SY679_.jpg

Just buy the whole root, cut it into small chunks and chew on it like sugar cane.

And you can tell people you're chewing on a homeless man's dreadlock. Just kidding. This one is all you guys though, can't stand that stuff.

"Men are more easily wooed by imagination then by science" - Will Durant

Instagram

• Licorice can fuck off from you over to me cos I love the stuff. :)