Ketosis has worked very well for me in all areas

I've been doing a ketogenic diet for close to 8 months now (basically similar to the Wahls protocol with Brain Octane and a lot of vegetables) and I've found that my lean muscle gains are better than they were when I was on basically a standard American diet. I don't know whether that's from working out harder during workouts or otherwise, but I consider the results to be very favorable. I'm 6'2" and 225 pounds with a six pack now clearly showing (but perhaps still not showing enough but it's certainly getting there for the first time ever).

Even if I found that I was losing lean muscle gains (again, definitely not the case) I would almost certainly stick with the ketogenic diet. I sometimes fall out of ketosis and I generally don't worry about that much now as it's quite easy to get back but sometimes in eating out there will be hidden sugar in what I order and I try not to obsess about that. My HDL went up and my triglycerides fell dramatically (LDL was slighter higher), as did my CRP and HBA1c which is very positive. Fatty liver disappeared as did my prediabetic diagnosis (I was shocked by the diagnosis as I had no symptoms for either condition that I was aware of at that time). Strangely one of the most noticeable differences was that my fingernails changed from dry, brittle and weak to shiny, hard and strong -- they used to chip regularly and now it feels like they could cut glass. I also found a major change in energy levels and overall cognitive functions (I rarely forget small things now which used to happen to me quite frequently).