my brain regimen and request for additional help

edited October 2016 in Brain Hacking

Hello guys, I want to start this post by giving a brief background on my history and my current regiment and I want to close off by asking for any possible help or ideas on what I can improve.

Currently my problem is that I am having anomic aphasia (word finding difficulties). For example, I can see somebody everyday but for some reason I will blank on their name. Another example would be when I am discussing a subject that I am very fluent in and I am unable to recall a descriptive word. I also have some mild brain fog on certain days and make silly mistakes. I first noticed this issue around 20 years old and it has been getting worse ever since (I am now in my mid 20's). With all of the alterations I will describe below, I have been able to abate this issue, however, I feel like I am just staving it off but I am still losing ground. I currently work as an RN and am going to school part-time attempting to finish pre-requisite classes for medical school.

Possible causes: I have experienced a lot of head trauma over my life time. I had several head injuries when I was <8 y.o. from falls. In my teens I had several head injuries from fights. In college I believe I sustained several concussion from boxing and mma. Also, I had very poor sleep and eating patterns throughout much of my life (although I still maintained a low body fat from genetics). My genotype is apoe3/apoe2, so I know my neurons are not highly susceptible to damage. Also, I am heterozygous for 1 MTHFR mutation therefore all of my references to b12 and folate are to the methylated versions.

My current regiment includes several approaches from attempting to improve sleep, supplements, diet, and exercise.