Not sure what's going on.....

edited October 2016 in Bulletproof Coffee

So, I'm kinda new to all this. I got the book several weeks ago, and found out my local health food store had the Brain Octane on sale. So, I decided to pick up a couple bottles. Then I went on a trip. A very long one. By car.

Since I'm just getting into this, I did not take a stick of organic grass fed unsalted butter with me. But I did take one bottle of Brain Octane with me, a stir stick, and a teaspoon measure. It helped tremendously with my concentration and alertness, no doubt (I have fallen asleep behind the wheel many times. This time it almost wasn't a problem).

Anyway, I've been drinking coffee since I was 5 years old. I try to keep a limit on how much I drink. A typical day is usually two cups in the morning (one of which I put the coconut oil in, so I guess that makes it "semi bulletproof") and usually...... this is a long standing tradition..... I'm usually ready for one last cup of coffee around 4 or 5pm (which I also add a teaspoon of Brain Octane to as well).

I know he says not to drink coffee after 2pm...... usually I'm napping at 2pm. Due to my sleep apnea. Which (normally) makes me chronically exhausted.

Last night, I was wide awake till about 3am. Couldn't sleep. Many times after I drink BP coffee I feel a rapid heart rate and a low level of general anxiety that I can't quite explain or put my finger on. I also suffer from PTSD.

And yes, I've been drinking coffee long enough to tell you that no, given my poor health and sleep apnea, rapid heart rates and being wide awake till 3am are not "normal" for me.

I haven't actually added the butter yet. Just because I find the idea a real PITA and I don't have a hand blender. I know in the book he talks about what to do with your upgraded life, but I didn't think it would involve being wide awake till 3am, watching re-runs of "Alfred Hitchcock Presents," and playing solataire on my smart phone.

Sigh.