Evening Carbs?

I'm just getting started on this thing and am a bit confused. In the book, it says that you should have some carbs at dinner. Best I can tell, berries don't really have enough carbs to meet the criteria, and sweet potatoes or apples have too many, unless you're on a protein fast day. So, what do you all use as your evening carbs each day when you are not on a protein fast?

Comments

• @Jason Miller said:
    Why would sweet potato or rice be to many? But not berries?

Because sweet potatoes has twice as many carbs as berries, and rice has 3 times as many. Is there any outside limit on how many carbs you are allowed to have at night, or just on fructose?

• I would simply experiment on your own to determine how many carbs are optimal for you. After years of experimenting my wife and I each eat at least 1/4 of a cup of rice cooked in MCT oil about 5 nights a week. If I want an extra scoop after dinner I have it. I haven't noticed any ill effects and I still get into ketosis in the AM without a problem. If I eat very much less than this I get dry eyes and my heart randomly races in the middle of the night.

• dazdaz today is a good day ✭✭✭

Hi @MAGN3T5 , how are you cooking the rice with MCT oil ?

& did you look into using MCT oil for cooking ? I do not recall seeing MCT oil being used as a cooking oil before.

fake it till you make it

• jcg3jcg3 ✭✭✭

I like variety - some days I might have berries for dessert. Other days I have sweet potatoes or white rice with the main meal. Some days I get all my carbs from non-starchy veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussels, etc. do have carbs - just not as much) and it ends up being less carbs than when I eat starches.

As they say, the dose makes the poison. If you really want to consume 50 g of carbs, you could eat a pound of raspberries. I doubt you need to try that hard though - as long as you're picking from the safe carbs, the amount is not as important.