Not hungry, but brain "shuts down" while fasting

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum, and I've been practicing bulletproof intermittent fasting for about 1 week. I'm not feeling any hunger before 2pm, but my brain doesn't seem to run on fats alone.

I feel dopey, like I can't find words, can't think straight. (I'm a research scientist, so thinking is part of my day job.) If it goes too long, then eating a meal won't fix it. It feels like being drugged up, woozy, and may end up as a headache.

Does anyone else have this problem with fasting? I love not being hungry, but it feels like my brain is running out of fuel.

Does this go away once I get used to it?

-Oi

Comments

• There are a few things to test here

1. Getting tired in the afternoon is somewhat natural, in my perspective. Look to how europeans have a siesta. If sleep isn't an option, how about taking a short break to rest.

2. It could be a electrolyte issue. Try taking some salt and see how you feel.

3. Test test test. Try having some protein or carbs or different types of fats at different times. Everyone's biology is slightly different. For example, I have been testing eating more food in the morning and not in the evening for the last week and at least in the short term i feel better than when I was avoiding food early in the day. Always be testing

• DManDMan Master of Arts ✭✭✭

Are you sure you are in ketosis?

I get tired in keto as well after some time. Eating veggies and protein helps.

If nothing works have some breakfast. Some busy people have breakfast and fast during business hours.

May you be well, may you be happy, may you be healthy, may you be loved.

How much to eat:
    advanced | How to train: bulletproof training | HRV: HRV FOR TRAINING HRV BASICS What Affects HRV | Brain  & Memory dual n back training advanced training

• Thanks for the comments.