Being Sore?

I'm relatively new to working out, and I need to know what to consider a workout.

When I do the body by science workout as suggested by Dave, I don't feel it the next day or week even when I go all out.

But when I used to run on the treadmill for half an hour at high speed, I would feel it for a week, and I would run it once a week.

Comments

• suntouchersuntoucher Uninspired Potential ✭✭✭

Are you getting results?

• TJ JTJ J skratta pa klocka
    edited February 2013

Training for 30 plus minutes on a treadmill puts your body in a catabolic state and rapidly depletes your glycogen stores. This will make you sick, lose sleep, and more sore. It has a negative effect on cortisol levels and how your body stores fat. It also requires you to eat more carbohydrates. But how many? Too few carbs and you'll be sore and unhealthy, too many carbs not timed correctly, and you'll get fat and unhealthy.  The correct amount of carbs before/after long cardio sessions can even be difficult for someone with a log journal, myfitnesspal app, and a food scale to gauge. 

edit: And, with treadmill distance running, if you by chance get the perfect amount of glucose at the perfectly optimal time you still spent 30 minutes of your life wasting muscle mass, when you could have burnt the same fat in far less time doing high intensity intervals for 7 minutes  and could have spent the extra 23 minutes meditating.

Body By Science is way to go.

• Are you getting results?

Not yet, it's only my 2nd week.. But I don't feel sore sometimes and I'm doing it once every 3 or 4 days..

I want to know if it's okay not to feel sore, I mean I feel it after I finish the session but not the next day.