Intermittent Fasting & Workout Time

I am just starting out with BP diet and I am super excited! I have been strict paleo for about 6 months now, but looking to kick it up a notch. I have been doing IF once a week, 24 hour fast.

My only question about switching to the 16/8 window is workout time. I know it is recommended to lift heaving right before your first feed, but I work 9-6 and can't exactly get a workout in during the middle of the day. What do others do? I really like working out in the am. I usually do sprints fasted, but will have 1 egg/1 tbsp coconut oil before a strength workout. Would the best time to workout be before the second feed, so that I can refuel? Again, I prefer to workout in the AM - and I am more likely to workout if I do! Is it okay to just have BP coffee right after a weight session and then just wait to eat until 1 or 2?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• I'm interested in this answer as well  :mrgreen:

• edited March 2013

of course it's 'ok', but if you want to maximize your adaptation to your training (ie take advantage of progressive-overloading principles ie 'progress') then you should time your fueling around it, period.  

another thing i want to mention is that, for me, there's very little good 'executive functioning' in me after training; i could not imagine trying to get a serious workout in before getting my work for the day over with.  I'd definitely 'vote' that you just suck it up and train later in the day, and just be stricter w/ yourself about doing it if you're having trouble w/ motivation.  

something I cannot ascertain from your post is why this is a bp concern?  going from strict paleo to bp shouldn't be causing this issue, is this just an issue you've had for 6mo but haven't worked out yet?