Crossfit + Keto + If + Ct + Law School: Optimizing Strength, Speed, And Learning

I'm currently a JD/MBA student at USC, but my background is sleep/circadian rhythms research at Mary Carskadon's Sleep/Chronobiology Lab at Brown University. I started following the Bulletproof method to optimize neurological benefits and .

Previously, I followed a modified Leangains protocol, with an 8 hour feeding window (eating paleo), with a binge/refeed day once per week, followed by a longer 24-28 hr fast. I am also a competitive CrossFitter, so my main concerns with upgraded paleo was its effects on athletic performance. I train very heavily throughout the week, usually 2x/day (with 10g BCAA before and after the morning session), so recovery time and performance is very important to me.

Currently, I'm about a week into upgraded Paleo, and I've started drinking bulletproof coffee http://snapguide.com/guides/make-a-spiced-bulletproof-mocha-20/ before lifting in the mornings, and sometimes again after training during school. I've gone from ~162 lb to 155lb over this week (previously 7% body fat). But it seems like my strength has not decreased since I keep hitting new lifting PRs each week.

Does anyone have any recommendations for optimizing both athletic performance and neurological performance? I have about 12 hours/day in the law library prepping for exams, so anything that increases performance in both aspects would be great.

Comments

• Aniracetam or any of the racetams "smart drugs" for neurologicall performance. I'm starting them this week, and I have heard a lot of good feedback from people who use it. Probably wil be taking them with some Choline as well, as many people state you need, in order for it to be effective. You may get enough Choline from eggs and meat though. It takes some time to build up in your system(7 days). I'll report back my personal experiences with it, once I have used it for a week.