Ketosis And Pure Organic Coconut Water

Hi, I am new to the idea of ketosis and intermittent fasting and about to give it a go. I have the basic principles down as well as a good idea of the dos and donts regarding general food items though I have a couple of specific questions I'd like to seek the answers to first.

1) During the fasting period (for me between 8-9pm and 2-3pm the following day) am I to COMPLETELY restrict all nutrient intake. Carbs and sugars seem like a no-brainer but what about other nutrients derived from pure or supplement sources. 

2) I have become quite accustom to, and love, drinking the water from fresh organic coconuts every morning after a workout. This water is straight from an organic, yellow, coconut and is opened and consumed immediately. There is always at least 500mm of liquid (often 750mm) in these yellow coconuts and I am wondering whether these will prevent me from entering, or take me out of ketosis. I have tried to find the answer to this but most people seem to refer to the canned variety rather than fresh. 

Thanks,

Adam

Comments

• katolotuskatolotus ✭✭✭
    edited April 2013

From what I know (so feel free to ignore) coconut water (natural or canned) has sugars in it (i.e. carbs) that'll bring you out of ketosis. I would suggest you only have it in your feeding window.

Sorry to be a bringer of bad news, but I've found being bulletproof is about giving up things that you think you love and can't do without and replacing them with things, that are better for you, make you feel better and make the old stuff feel like an ex-lover that you no longer pine for and feel sorry for someone when you see them with with them :wink:

Katolotus

MMA Fighter

SUCCESS: A lot of little things done well

• HA! That's a pretty specific analogy right there. Speaking from past experience no doubt. 

So you think I should be good to have the coconut water in the feeding window right?