Emotional Adjustment To Bp: What To Expect?

I'm wondering what the emotional adjustments are (if any) for newcomers to the BP life? I have been drinking BP coffee every morning for about 3 months. Around the same time I started weening myself off of grains and sugars. In the last week, I have been following the BP diet quite strictly.  It wasn't until this past week that I started noticing and acting out strong feelings of anger (arguing over petty things, taking offense to everything, crying out of frustration, stubbornness, etc.). I am very irritable. I am usually a very calm and patient person, so these feelings are somewhat foreign to me. 

After reading some of the other threads and not finding any related information, I was wondering if I am the only one experiencing this? I tried to rule out some extraneous factors such as lack of exercise (I decreased my running from 20 miles/week to 3), hormonal imbalances due to menstruation (but I'm in the middle of my cycle), and my recent acquisition of too much free time (school's out for the summer). The only thing I can rationalize is that I may have some intestinal issues (parasites?) that are having a hell of a time adjusting to my dietary changes. Since parasites feed off of carbs/sugars/etc., could these emotional issues be caused by this? Also, could this be linked to an adrenal issue (since my anger wells up in the mornings after drinking my morning cup of BPC)? Are there any known effects of MCT's or fats on emotional activity in the brain?

I didn't want to do an intestinal cleanse unless it is necessary... Any insight on what could be the cause of this issue? If I am the only one with this problem then forgive my questioning. If this has happened to you, please reply and reassure me with a logical explanation that I'm not going crazy!! 

Thank you!!

BTW, I am in my late 20's, 5'5'', 125 lbs, moderately active, gluten sensitive, if that matters.

"Timshel!"

Comments

• OceanRayOceanRay
    edited June 2013