Is Bulletproof...killing Me...?

Strict Paleo since 2/11. Went off statins and blood work looked great.

I began BP Coffee (butter and MCT Oil) in Nov., 2011 and ever since then, my lipids have been moving through the roof. See below:

date-total cholestrol/HDL/LDL/Tri

12/11-247/96/136/59

3/12-301/83/200/70

6/12-329/75/236/84

These are all VAP tests.

Everything is moving in the wrong direction! Doctor, who's cool with Paleo, is beating the statin drum.

I just found this article:

http://www.ajcn.org/content/79/4/564.full

Maybe I simply can't tolerate MCT/butter?

Anyone have any similar experience in using butter and MCT oil? Thoughts on what is going on...?

Totally bummed here. I guess it's time to take out the MCT oil and butter and retest in 3 month. Dang...

Possible caution to others?

I don't know.....

Comments

• I'm not a doctor; but man, if I was in your N-1, I would have changed things up a long time ago. Are you doing the RapidFatLoss, or just having BP coffee in the AM and a more normal paleo diet the rest of the day? Whatever the case, you may be the six-sigma outlier who this totally doesn't work for...and in which case, could probably stand to work with a credible naturopath or some such...depending on where you are in your overall health journey. Dave's stuff is not a one-size-fits-all prescription...we all need to experiment and trust our own bodies to a certain extent...
  • What butter are you using? Kerrygold?

Also when is your next meal usually after the BPC?
  • 'Larry' wrote:

Strict Paleo since 2/11. Went off statins and blood work looked great.

I began BP Coffee (butter and MCT Oil) in Nov., 2011 and ever since then, my lipids have been moving through the roof. See below:

date-total cholestrol/HDL/LDL/Tri

12/11-247/96/136/59

3/12-301/83/200/70

6/12-329/75/236/84

These are all VAP tests.

Everything is moving in the wrong direction! Doctor, who's cool with Paleo, is beating the statin drum.

I just found this article: