Why I'm No Longer Supplementing With Omega-3.

Hi guys,

This is my second post here so I'll do a quick intro: I'm a weight loss coach who happens to be big on Bulletproof principles.

I used to take omega-3, and even recommend it to my clients, but after being introduced to this physiologist's work I've pulled a 180º and actively started asking clients NOT to supplement with omega-3 and to instead get it from whole food sources (grass-fed meat, wild fish, some plant foods).

This is a video featuring Professor Brian Peskin speaking at the Silicon Valley Health Institute:

PDF overview: http://www.brianpeskin.com/BP.com/publications/2011-Fish%20Oil%20Fallacies.pdf

As I'm sure most of you know Dave is the chair of the SVHI, so I'm hoping he has either seen or heard about this research . . . I would love to hear his views on it.

Personally, I've been convinced that refined omega-3 supplements do more harm than good. 

Would love to hear opinions here and if anyone knows whether Dave's looked into this or not since I know he recommends krill oil as part of the BP diet.

Thanks,

Tara

Comments

• I thought that the paper was compelling, almost to the point of overkill.  Thanks for sharing.

• Welcome PB — Well, I think he has to take the overkill approach. He's up against a lot of people saying the exact opposite to what he's proposing ;)

• edited August 2013

-what is the recommended omega 6/3 ratio (if any) being put forward here ?

-my main issue, is papers like this, and how I would get down to a 1:1 level (which is the history of human diet, and similar to most other wild animal diets), without supplementing (given the extra omega 6 that is now in a lot of food)

-he seems to be big on "raw foods", what is a recommended raw food diet plan to hit this ratio?

Reigning Former Inner Balance "Mad Monk" Champion... :-P