Have You Had Your Cholesterol Tested?

Hey y'all

I have recently found out that my cholesterol has doubled after a month on the bulletproof diet. I have spoken with a couple of other people who have found that they too have had a significant increase in their cholesterol.

The pattern appears to be increased total and LDL cholesterol with a drop in triglycerides.

I thought I would run a poll to see how many of you have acutally measured your lipids whilst on the bulletprood diet and what the results are.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• kittykitty
    edited July 2012
    I need to have mine done, I find it immensely interesting that dave and also Chris Kresser and Peter Attia are not generally too concerned with higher cholesterol. Being a physiology/anatomy/biochemistry student I find it rather contradictory compared to the things I am presented in my courses. Also contradictory to the things we've all been told many years over! It has been shown that people with lower cholesterol are more likely to have heart disease, and that really excess amounts of sugar are linked to having atherosclerosis, not the fats themselves.

Without knowing my serum cholesterol levels, I do know that I initially started to have a pounding heart and postural blood pressure drops or increases when I started to have bulletproof coffee. I did not have the same effect when just using coconut oil/MCT and taking out the butter.

What if the cholesterol raise is just a sort of temporary adjustment? This is just a hypothesis. But If our bodies have adjustment periods, especially after years of whatever wrong things we have given them, perhaps the elevated cholesterol is just an temporary thing that will improve. If the fat intake hasnt been as high as it is now. Just some thoughts.
  • Hi Kitty

I am hoping your hypothesis is correct! I'll check my lipids again in a couple of months and we'll see.