Cool Stress Reduction Hack - Noise Cancelling Headphones

Hey guys,

Started doing a new hack to reduce stress / improve focus (i think i thought of it myself even - although someone else has probably already come up with it elsewhere).

Anyway, i have been reading about the impacts of noise on cognition and stress levels and it seems that even low level noise (HVAC, nearby conversations, traffic) can significantly affect performance. Working in an open plan style office, this is a live issue for me so i started playing around with a set of Bose QC15s to see how well they worked. Got to say that its a pretty amazing improvement! they block out background sound to an beautifully and make conversations etc seem a lot less intrusive. To use a phrase often heard on the podcasts, it has been "transformative" image/wink.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=';)' />

I don't have any hard data but my focus has improved and my self assessed stress levels have gone down. I feel a sense of relief now every time i put the things on!

Sharing is caring so let me know if any of you guys have done or read anything similar?
www.optimoz.com.au

Upgraded products for Aussies AND NOW NZ!!

Comments

• Hi Leon,

Matches my experience with noise-cancelling headphones - they are unbeatable for gaining focus and removing the low level background stressors of air-con noise or jet sounds on planes - I used to fly weekly and found myself having a residual mild anxiety that completely disappeared when I started using noise-cancelling headphones. One of the best purchases I ever made....
  • RodRod The Rodfather
    Hi,

Thank you guys for the share. Are all noise canceling headphone created equal?

Ty!