Women And If

I am surprised to not see this topic covered in this section!

I am relatively new to BP and have been doing several days per week of IF. I have done juice fasts before and really don't have a problem with not eating all day. With my BP coffee in the morning I stay energized all day with no crashes, etc.

The only problem I've had is positional dizziness. When I am squatting down to do something and get up I get very lightheaded and have to grab something to steady myself. Also less frequently when I go from a stiing position to standing I get the same result. I am a nurse and I am pretty in tune with my body. Once I stand there for a moment it goes away and life goes on. I do not have a blood sugar monitor to see if this is the issue but I suspect not since it goes away as fast as it comes on. I have never had BP (blood pressure not bulletproof :) issues.

I wonder if anyone else has had this symptom doing IF?

I've heard women should not IF for hormonal reasons and found this article discussing it further:

http://www.paleoforwomen.com/shattering-the-myth-of-fasting-for-women-a-review-of-female-specific-responses-to-fasting-in-the-literature/

Any thoughts/experiences?

And can anyone speak to why women should NOT do IF?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• This article is a little different because it's assuming you're fasting with no fats or calories whatsoever, where the idea BPIF is to keep your body in a fasting state (no insulin spikes) while still supplying energy from the fat in the coffee. Dave discusses the topic of women on IF here http://www.bulletproofexec.com/a-bad-combination-for-women-intermittent-fasting-and-paleo/