Athletic Performance And Nursing

I am fairly new to Bulletproof and hoping that some of you can help me become more "Bulletproof."

I am a 34 yo Breastfeeding mother of 10 month old twins. I am a CrossFit athlete (non-competitive) and middle distance runner (up to 13.1, planning for 26.2 in 2014). And I am a resident physician working up to 86 hours per week.

I work out for about an hour at 5:30 am, following a cup of a "mini" BP coffee (with 1 only Tbsp MCT and 1 tsp Kerrygold, as this to be all my stomach can handle right now).

Post-workout is often a whey protein smoothie with coconut milk, berries and either banana or avocado, or a bowl of "oats" made from eggs, banana, ground almonds, and spices with some fresh berries. The rest of the day is grassfed steak or salmon with lots of veggies and usually 1 Japanese sweet potato per day.

While I still have some baby weight to lose (I am 5'6" and 149 lbs, about 10 lbs higher than my pre-pregnancy weight) my #1 priority is my milk supply, and #2 is building strength (I was on bed rest for 3 months at the tail end of my pregnancy).

How can I improve my strength and post-workout recovery, and maximize nutrition, without over stressing my body so that it adversely affects my twins?

Comments

• Looks like you need to improve your fat digestion.  Maybe some Lipase would help.  Milk Thistle would boost your liver function but I'm not sure whether you can take this while nursing.  I certainly hope you are getting some assistance with your lovely twins.  The last ten pounds often are not the easiest to lose.  It will happen.  Don't weigh too often because with BP you automatically increase muscle mass even if you weren't exercising.