Omega 3 And Insomnia

I am new to the Bulletproof diet;  I just started it right after Thanksgiving, along with my wife.  We bought most of the supplements Dave recommends, but we bought fish oil instead of krill due to my wife’s inability to swallow pills.  

I was taking a serving of fish oil daily, with no problems up until 12/22, which is when I started to develop insomnia.  I took an additional serving of fish oil that day because I had eaten a number of almonds and wanted more omega 3 oil to offset the additional omega 6.  That night, I couldn’t fall asleep, and when I did finally fall asleep, it was a very light sleep, never reaching a deep sleep.  I mistakenly took another dose of fish oil in the morning and again had insomnia that next night.  Recognizing what was happening, I stopped the fish oil on the 24th and immediately experienced an easier time falling asleep and deeper, more restorative sleep.  

I first linked omega 3 oils to insomnia between 2007 and 2009 when I discovered the work of Brian Peskin (http://www.brianpeskin.com)  Peskin states one should avoid fish oil, but supplement with organic, raw plant based “parent” essential oils in a ratio of roughly 1:3 (Ω3:Ω6).  I followed Peskin’s advice, combining different plant based oils, such as hemp, chia seed, and flax oil, taking them in the ratio he recommended.  I don’t remember how long it took to develop, but I while taking these oils, I experienced the worst insomnia of my life.  I would lay in bed at night and just sit there, tossing and turning, never falling into a deep, restorative sleep.  It was at this time that I started drinking coffee regularly, just to get through the day.  I think there were some other supplements Peskin recommended that I started taking at the same time, so it took me a while to link the insomnia to the oils.