Real Estate Investing

Has/Does anyone on this board own any real estate and rent it out?

I have been doing it for the last 3 years, not the way I have wanted to but for other reasons. I am about to do it the way that I want too.

I bought a condo back in 2010 and due to circumstances had to move out of it and move to another city for a job, so I found a family to move into it quickly. I haven't really been making money on it but its been keeping me afloat. Now that I am about to finish school and have a job lined up, I will be getting back into real estate in a big way.

The plan is to sell my condo, and buy a house, get a couple roommates and use that extra money to purchase another house that I will rent out.

I am thinking if everything goes well I will add 1-2 houses to my portfolio every 3-5 years.

So does anyone have any stories or have tried this?

Comments

• Whats your long term goals with the properties?

That will be a major deciding factor for what sort of properties you want to invest in.

Have you ever considered commerical properties?

Do LOTS of research...neightbourhood, demographics, average home values, average rental rates, etc.

For the love of God/Buddha/Allah/Ganesha get a home inspection!