Should I Get Into Contracting?

Hey guys,

Ive been working as a design engineer for about 12 years now, I've worked at a few different companies from automotive to petro chem to green industry and I've used a fair few 3d systems.  I'd say I'm a pretty good engineer.

I can see how much more money can be made by contracting but am obviously apprehensive on becoming a contractor and all the extra responsibility that comes with that.. But I'm of the mindset of just do it man... But before I take Nike's advice.. I wondered if there were any guys on here that made the jump from permie to contracting and any tips or warnings?

Thanks!!!

\m/(>.<)\m/ www.trucke.co.uk - my rockband!! \m/(>.<)\m/

Tagged:

Comments

• StevoStevo Upgrade in Progress
    I've been contracting as a software tester for about 4 years. I love it, I'd hate to go back to permanent employment!

I wrote a post about contracting here: http://www.thatstevenbaker.com/intro-to-working-as-an-independent-contractor/

Here are a few lessons I learnt the hard way:

- calculate annual pay at 46 weeks, not 52 to allow for holiday time, public holidays, sick time etc.

- save 3 months of living expenses and put the cash aside

- set aside money for training yourself in new skills

- see a good accountant!

- learn some negotiation skills

It's made a huge difference to my family's life, but it's not for everyone. I'll try to think of some more tips.
  • Stevo has some good points, here is my take on it. I am not a contractor but my brother switched to it doing computer programming.

First why do you want to become a contractor? Do you want to challenge yourself more? Make more money? More freedom?

Because with those things come some negatives. You may be without coverage for health care, prescriptions, dental, glasses all of those things that come with an employer who covers your health care costs. I see you are in the UK so I don't know if that applies to you but it might.