New York Times Article Against High Protein, Low Carb Diets

I saw this article in the New York Times yesterday that says these sorts of diets make you lose weight by shedding water, not fat. Would be curious if anyone here has a good response to this.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/10/health/nutrition/q-and-a-are-high-protein-low-carb-diets-effective.html?_r=1

Comments

• The study on which the conclusions of this guy are based is a study in the American Journal of Physiology by Leibel et al. named "A comparative study of different means of assessing long-term energy expenditure in humans". For starters, the aim of the study wasn't even to compare diets but to compare measures of energy expenditure. It used an experimental design in which 20 (!) persons received for 2 weeks (!) a liquid formula diet in which the only fat used is corn oil (!).

I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't worry about it.
  • Well I doubt the seriously big losers doing Paleo, etc just lost water. The water weight is one of the first things to go but once that's gone, it's either fat or muscle for the rest. And because programs suchas bulletproof ensure you've got the nutrients required to either maintain or even gain muscle mass it means the only thing left to go is fat.

I'm sure others on here could point to scientific evidence to back it up.
  • edited September 2012
    *ignore - double post*
  • edited August 2013

And because programs suchas bulletproof ensure you've got the nutrients required to either maintain or even gain muscle mass it means the only thing left to go is fat.

This hasn't been the case for me, all the muscle mass I had added this year as gone plus some more, I was 12st ish and at my low I have been down to 11st 4lbs. How much protein in grams should I be eating on BP?, because I read in the comments of a BP article and I think it was Bulletproof intern who said the maintenance level was 40g a day.