Compromise Between Sleep And Weight Training

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to Bulletproof but it's been always my passion to optimize whatever I do. One thing I'm working on right now is finding a compromise for gaining muscle mass while sleeping as less as possible (without affecting my health). What got me thinking was Dave's comment on the relation between weight training and the amount of deep sleep needed.

But let's see how I can structure my ideas more clearly:

Goal: to find the amount of weight training and sleep I feel best with 

Approach:

- Quantify the critical factors like daily calorie intake, workout intensity, amount of (deep) sleep 

-  Set monthly goal for muscle gain -> calculate how much effort is needed based on workout variables

- Find out how I can calculate the amount of sleep needed based on workout variables  

The last point is where I'd be grateful for your help: I was wondering what science knows about the relation between how many calories we take in / how intense we work out and how much sleep we need.  

Thanks for reading!

Comments

• Short update: What is your take on sleep hacking while lifting weights regularly? 

These are Dave statements about this topic (loosely quoted):

1. Even a short workout of 20 minutes can result in a higher need for (deep?) sleep.

2. Don't hack your sleep for three nights after your workout.

Do you know any scientific sources for these statements? And what does "don't hack your sleep" mean: Would that mean 6.5 hours (the "safe" amount according to the Kripke-Study that Dave mentions) would be okay? Or even 5?

• Does anyone know if 6.5 hours of sleep are a "safe" amount of sleep even if you are working out several times per week?