I Am An Ignorant Follower

edited November 2014 in Bulletproof Diet

Today I went to a school function for the Dietetics club (i am a university student). A dietitian spoke to the group about the *ideal breakfast*. She lectured about the importance of eating a *healthy* breakfast. Her recommendation? Oh, a nice blend of proteins carbs and veggies. Ah shit, here we go, i said to myself. She made suggestions about what constituted a healthy breakfast (whole grains! oats! bagels! LOW FAT MILK! ect..) the usual mainstream high carb low fat diet. I obviously disagreed but then I realized that I couldn't confidently defend my position of a high fat, low carb, moderate protein diet. How blind I have been. Not much better than a religious zealot, I have been. 

So, what is the basis for a high fat, low carb, moderate protein diet similar to what is espoused by Dave Asprey? I understand that this is a question that would be best answered in a 300 page book, so where would be a good place to start reading about the *scientific* basis for what can be describe as the "paleo", "bulletproof", or "ketogenic" diet?  Why are fats a more efficient source of fuel than carbohydrates? Why are whole grains problematic, if at all? Is IF a wise dietary practice? ect..I am not asking for a detailed post (unless you want to actually address my questions...go for it) describing the whys and hows, but rather links to good sources that might answer my questions

You should have seen her face when I said I put butter in my coffee...I could just read her mind. OMG HEART DISEASE HIGH BP STROKE WHAT ARE U [email protected]?SHIT. Her face began to spasm. Ok, it didn't. But it almost did. Then she asked me "Do you think that your feeling better on this diet might be just in your head?" insinuating that my diet's effects were a placebo. Well, yes sillypants..I know enough about quantum mechanics to have a slight understanding that the whole universe appears to be a giant placebo. 

Comments