Hacking Office Environments For Productivity

Hi all, I'm a bulletproofer and an engineer who's interested in how to hack offices and other work environments for maximum health and productivity. I know most bulletproofing gains are through nutrition, etc, but what about hacking the space where we (and our staff) need to be most focused and productive.

I've done a little research, and there's lots about desk ergonomics and workplace fitness initiatives, but I can find very little about hacking the actual environment (lighting, air quality, music, etc) to upgrade health and productivity of staff. Does anyone here have any experience in this field?

It seems like if you could upgrade an office full of workers with a little investment in some whale-song or biodynamic lighting the returns in productivity increase Multiplied by and office full of staff would be well worth it!

Comments

• Have a coffee machine installed, but instead of regular coffee, it dispenses ready-made bulletproof coffee to everyone in the office!

• Simple, but brilliant - Good idea! I'd love one of those.

Though you still have to go through those painful: "...butter. Yes butter. In the coffee, yes. No, it's mixed in. It's nice, really, try it. Just try it. Just try it once. Just- ...aw forget it!" conversations with every co-worker before there's any noticeable improvement.
  • ACH85ACH85 ✭✭
    edited February 2014

At my last job there were many inefficiencies, and I found myself thinking about this stuff non-stop during my downtime. So a bit of a dump:

1. Music - everyone has different tastes, don't pipe it in and let people use headphones. Music without words can be helpful during creative work, music with lyrics is generally not helpful unless you're powering through a mindless spreadsheet. For me, white noise is the only thing I can use while writing. 

2. Light - Dave mentioned somewhere that fluorescent lights confuse our eyes. An incandescent desk lamp is an improvement.