Collagen And Ketosis

Hi all! I was just curious if you add the collagen to your morning BPC if it will take you out of ketosis?

I am very new to BP an loving it so far but any advice, help, or support would be appreciated.

*60 lbs to lose

Comments

• Hi. I m 73 on a chemo drug that makes you fat so I'm very challenged weight wise. I have used collagen in my morning BP coffee but prefer to use it in my evening no coffee latte to help me sleep better. I don't think it takes u out of ketosis. It's a protein. The one thing I'm trying out now is to skip lunch and only have dinner. I have my morning bulletproof coffee but I add a raw egg yolk for additional fat and nutrution and then another bulletproof coffee at noon. This kills hunger and cravings to get me thru to dinner without having lunch. I'm expecting it will help with my weight issue. I also drink a lot of bone broth which is very nourishing ..... Keep trying different things and keep reading the book. That really helps as one misses a lot of good info on the first read.
  • I am also wondering if adding collagen to bulletproof coffee in the morning will take me out of ketosis. I don't think it will but I am looking for some confirmation. Since it is a hydrolyzed protein (poly peptide) I don't think it would since your metabolism should prefer sugars>fats>proteins and if you've got the butter and brain octane then you should be generating the ketones. However, in a podcast I have heard Dave say that glutamine supplements will take you right out of ketosis, and glutamine is an amino acid. Thus I am left wondering. I am considering buying the keto pee strips to ensure I'm in ketosis. Any literature or anyone who has tried collagen in coffee and confirmed ketosis would be encouraging to hear.

Thanks and stay bulletproof,
    Tony