Recommend A Martial Art

Right now I'm a huge (amateur and natty) gym junkie, but I also recognize that less is more when it comes to working out in the gym. I get in there, 30-45 mins max, and get out. It's working great for making physical progress, but it's frustrating me quite a lot.

I'm a college student who studies online from home (allows me to access American degrees while living in South Africa), and it means I need more stuff to keep myself busy - hence my presence on the Bulletproof forums.

I've been considering taking up a martial art for a while now, because I feel it fits my personality of enjoying rigorous training as well as plenty of discipline and practice. 

Right now I'm looking at taking up Shaolin Kung Fu at a local school called the International Kim Loong Wushu Centre (http://www.kimloong.org) where they have classes for:

- Shaolin Quan

- Sanda

- Tai Chi Quan

- Wing Chun Quan

- Gi Qong

I'm looking at starting with Shaolin and perhaps supplementing with additional Tai Chi or Qi Gong classes for the greater focus on meditation and intrinsic energy.

Does anyone have any opposing recommendations? 

Or any experience with these mentioned styles and how they benefited you?

Comments

• katolotuskatolotus ✭✭✭ ✭✭✭

I would suggest a more practical, physical art. Any reasons for listing those, or just the closest/easiest.

What you looking to achieve from you TMA training?

Katolotus

MMA Fighter

SUCCESS: A lot of little things done well

• edited July 2013

Haha I was expecting you would be one of the first to comment :)

My reasoning for not going for something like MMA or kickboxing (I have a few friends who do it so could easily join them) is because I don't really like the competitive nature - it is very much sport martial arts focused. I get too competitive and just find it added unnecessary stress.