Newbie Question: How Many Calories Are Enough On Bpd

Hi Forum! 

I confess, I'm a newbie. But I have done my homework. 

I've listened to every podcast, read a few of the recommended books (and a few more are on my shelf to be read), and figured out my own plan to do BP for me. 

My concern is that I'm not actually eating enough. I work out (weights and yoga) and walk (I have a dog) every day.  Using MyFitnessPal, my calorie intake has been less than 2000 every day but I've not been hungry because (I'm assuming) I'm getting plenty of fats and proteins. (Less than 80g of carbs each day.)

How can I determine if I'm actually getting enough food?

One thing I was always told (which maybe false) was that I shouldn't eat if I'm not hungry. What do you all think - and what has been your experience going BP?

By comparison, before I would get RAVENOUS around 11 am and 5 pm like clock work. Now, I'm not really feeling hungry except once a day in the evening, and that's pretty mild.

Any advice you may have would be so welcome!   

Lots of love and thanks in advance,

Cassieleigh

Comments

• ACH85ACH85 ✭✭

^^ yep.

I've noticed hunger is very different for me when I'm fat-adapted, which I think is because my body recognizes there's more fuel to be had (body fat) so there's no emergency. I can eat less than 1400 calories a day without feeling super hungry, and my BMR is probably well over 2000 calories. 

Especially when I am intermittent fasting, I need to eat even when I'm not hungry. The smaller the eating window, the more eating while not hungry happens. 

• Thank you, ACH85 and Jason!

Now off to Google for a BMR calculator and symptoms of caloric deficit. 

Chees,

C

• Bulletproof ModBulletproof Mod Welcome to the Forums mod

Welcome to the Bulletproof forum, cassieleigh!  Always good to have new members.

For more information on the Bulletproof Diet and lifestyle, please check out the Bulletproof Executive's home page:  http://www.bulletproofexec.com/